Resistance Training – Workout Day 1

Day 1 Week 1 – So after the 4th of July Lakeside Fun Run I headed over to the gym to start my new yet old familiar Jillian Michael’s Winning by Losing resistance circuit weight training program. Today the focus was on the Chest, Shoulders, Triceps, Quads and Abs. The idea is to do 3 sets of 15 each for each circuit.

Circuit 1
Push-Ups
Squats

Push-ups were harder than I thought they would be. I remember being stronger on these so I’m happy that I’ll be working on these.

Circuit 2
Dumbbell Chest Flys (8lb weights)
Sumo Squats

Not to much trouble with this circuit. Might use a little bit lighter weight for the flys next time.

Circuit 3
Bench Dips
Leg Extensions

Bench dips are always a bit hard after 2 sets but pushed through.

Circuit 4
Lateral Raises
Jumping Jacks (1 minute)
Basic Crunches

This circuit was good except I could really feel my calves working on the jumping jacks.

Circuit 5
Seated Tricep Extensions
Jump Rope (1 minute)
Scissors

Did not have a jump rope so I jumped in place for 1 minute. I also added a few more tricep exercises with a machine. Ab work felt good too.

I will like these workouts better when I can move more freely around the gym but I got in the workout and feel good. Tomorrow is Back, Biceps, Hamstrings, Glutes and Oblique Ab work! Day 2 tomorrow. Happy Fourth!

Leave a Reply

