Another Good Run

I got off work yesterday and headed over to see my nephew and niece. One of the kiddos forgot their jacket in my car. At any rate I had asked if they wanted to go on a run earlier in the day and they said NO! It sounded definitive. So I didn’t bother to change into gym clothes before I left work. Well I got over to their house and helped them with homework and when Tom was done he said “Do you want to go for a run Auntie?” I was a little surprised as it seemed he didn’t have that much interest, but I quickly changed. I figured this was the moment. I had to make a choice and I decided it is true that the hardest part is sometimes just getting out the door. So we did. Tom and I on foot and Tia on her scooter. I had mapped out a loop which was about .58miles per loop. So Tom and I thought two miles would be good. So that was four times around. Tia made it twice around before she headed off to soccer practice and Tom and I finished the laps. I was doing pretty well the first lap and part of the second but then I think trying to keep up with a 12 year-old caught up with me. I slowed my pace but I could still feel a stitch coming on. I kept going but slowed down, concentrated on my breathing and it seemed to help a little. It wasn’t as good a run as the day before but it was a good run and I enjoyed the time with my kiddos.

Leave a Reply

