Spondylolisthesis

is what I found out I have and it explains why I am in some pain. I found this definition while doing research for this condition on the internet:  Spondylolisthesis is when one vertebra slips forward over the vertebra below it. I don’t know how or when I got this and I likely could have been born with it and was just asymptomatic until I aggravated the condition which caused the back pain. It could also have happened while young from a fall or some trauma as well as when an adult from a car accident or other trauma as well. My doctor pointed out that at this point it doesn’t really matter how I have it but rather to focus our attention to the best course of treatment. An x-ray determined my condition and I managed to find an image on the internet that best matches my actual x-ray. The doctor says it is a Grade II, so somewhere between 25-49% “slippage”.  

So the next step it looks like is a Physical Therapist. I am hopeful that my condition can improve enough for me to get back to exercising and I think it will. I think the PT will want me to exercise maybe not the kind I want but still it is some good news. The bad news is the cost. Unfortuately I have a $750 deductible for “other services”, so I will be footing the bill for the first part of this. I have to be optimistic that if I do what they recommend that I will get better soon and will not need as many sessions. I do feel relieved that I now know why I’ve had back pain, all be it minor till now, for a number of years. I’m looking forward to the PT and time will tell. All I know is that I DO NOT want back surgery so I’m going to work it hard!

Leave a Reply

